Special Election Results - NBC Connecticut

Special Election Results



    How to Control Your Devices (So They Don't Control You)
    Getty Images
    Voting results from Tuesday's special election.

    For Terry Gerratana, it's time to return to politics. The former state representative from New Britain defeated Mayor Tim Stewart to nab the Senate seat for the sixth district.

    "It was a very personal campaign for me, talking with people. Talking with people on the street, talking with people on the phones.  I went to churches, coffees. In five weeks, I was campaigning morning, noon and night," Gerratana said.

    "We ran a positive, issue-based campaign, like I always have, and never gotten down to the negativity my opponent did.  And that’s unfortunate, it really is, that people want to see that kind of politics," Stewart said.

    Turnout at the polls was light, even in New Britain, where the sixth district race caught people’s attention.

    Dia Dipasupil/Getty Images

    "The special election didn’t draw the number of voters that we would like to have. If we get 20 percent, maybe," said Bob Clinch, the moderator at the polling place at the Vance School.

    That was the higher end of the scale. The Secretary of the State's Office estimates anywhere from 10 to 20 percent voter turnout in the districts where races were held.
    "Stakes are pretty high in an election like this, with what the state is facing, but it is hard to bring voters out when it’s cold, the day after a national holiday and school vacation week," Deputy Secretary of the State James Spallone, said.
    But no matter what the turnout, the voters have chosen six new state representatives and three new state senators to represent them at the Capitol.

    Here's a look at the results still coming in:

    Senate 6th:

    Terry Gerratana (D) - √  4,565

    Timothy Stewart (R)  4,231 *Unofficial*

    Senate 13th:

    Thomas Bruenn (D) 4,750

    Len Suzio (R) - √  6,478

    Senate 27th:

    Carlo Leone (D)  4,517

    Bob Kolenberg (R) - √  3,725

    House 20th:

    Joe Verrengia (D) - √  1,513

    Allen Hoffman (R)  879

    House 26th:

    Robert Sanchez (D) - √  763

    Richard Marzi (Write-In)  3

    House 36th:

    Philip J. Miller (D) - √  2,751

    Janet Peckinpaugh (R)  2,526

    House 99th:

    James M. Albis (D) - √  1,423

    Linda Monaco (R)  1,331

    House 101st:

    Joan M. Walker (D)  1,520

    Noreen Kokruda (R) - √  2,119

    House 125th:

    Charlie Stallworth (D) - √  473

    James Keyser (R)  82

    Mark Trojanowski (Petitioning Candidate)  58

    Carlos Silva (Petitioning Candidate)  89

    Robert Kelley, Jr. (Petitioning Candidate)  191

    Thomas R. Lombard (Petitioning Candidate)  34

    Verna Kearney (Petitioning Candidate)  373