CT Gets Waiver From No Child Left Behind

Eight states were granted a waiver.

arne duncan

Federal officials are granting another eight states, including Connecticut, flexibility from the Bush-era No Child Left Behind law.

U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan said on Tuesday that he has approved waivers for Connecticut, Delaware, Louisiana, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio and Rhode Island.

Connecticut Board of Education Chairman Allan Taylor said in 2011 that the 2014 requirements set by the law were not possible unless huge amounts of money are shifted from other necessities.

Gov. Dannel Malloy said last year that Connecticut is already applying a higher, more rigorous standard than what's required by the federal law.

"Each and every child should have an opportunity to go to a great school no matter where he or she grows up," he said on Tuesday.

The Obama administration is granting waivers in exchange for promises from states to improve how they prepare and evaluate students. In all, 11 states have been given waivers so far.

Officials said 26 states and Washington, D.C., applied for flexibility in this round.

The waivers are a stopgap measure until Congress can rewrite the decade-old law, which has been up for renewal since 2007. Federal lawmakers agree the law needs to be changed, but they've bickered over how to do that.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us