Hamilton Creators to Help Choose Recipient of Wesleyan Scholarship Named in Their Honor

The creator and director of the Broadway hit "Hamilton" will serve as honorary chairs of a committee giving someone a shot at a four-year scholarship created in their honor to attend their alma mater in Middletown, Connecticut. 

Lin-Manuel Miranda and Thomas Kail will help choose the first recipient of the Wesleyan University Hamilton Prize for Creativity, which was announced in June. 

Wesleyan announced on June 15 that it established the full-tuition scholarship in honor of Miranda, a 2002 graduate, and Kail, a 1999 graduate. It will be awarded to an incoming student who submits a written work judged to best reflect "the originality, artistry and dynamism embodied in Hamilton." 

In addition to Miranda and Kail, the 14-member committee will include other noted Wesleyan alums including Lemony Snicket author Daniel Handler, singer Amanda Palmer of the punk duo Dresden Dolls, and Matthew Weiner, creator of the TV show "Mad Men." 

Kail and Miranda graduated from Wesleyan in 1999 and 2002, respectively. 

See the full list of members of the prize selection committee

The deadline to apply is Jan. 1 and you can apply online. 

Wesleyan will announced the scholarship recipient in the spring. 

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us