Salmonella Outbreak Affecting 10 States

Four Connecticut residents have been diagnosed with salmonella.

Federal officials are warning residents of 10 states of a salmonella outbreak that appears to be related to bean sprouts produced in Brooklyn, New York.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 68 people in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont have been infected with salmonella as of Nov. 21.

Four of those cases have been reported in Connecticut, the CDC said on Tuesday.

The CDC said 79 percent of the salmonella patients reported eating bean sprouts in the week leading up their diagnoses. Officials believe Brooklyn's Wonton Foods, Inc. has been producing the contaminated sprouts and said the company has agreed to stop selling them.

Twenty-six percent of the patients diagnosed with salmonella have been hospitalized, according to the CDC. No deaths have been reported.

More information on the outbreak is available on the CDC website.

Contact Us