Results from the Conventions - NBC Connecticut

Results from the Conventions



    A Colon Cancer Patient Gets the Right Care at the Right Time
    Here are the people whose names you will see in the primary.

    Between Friday night and Saturday, Democrats and Republicans met to choose their nominees for their respective parties as we approach the primaries. Here are the results in one of the most interesting election seasons for the state of Connecticut.

    U.S. Senate

    • Democrat: Attorney General Richard Blumenthal received the nomination, after a week of controversy over statements he made over his military record. Merrick Alpert, who was also running as a Democrat, withdrew his name for the nomination. There will be no primary.
    • Republican: Former WWE CEO Linda McMahon received the nomination. The decision came soon after she admitted that her campaign had done the research that led to the New York Times article about Blumenthal’s military status.
    • Former U.S. Rep. Rob Simmons qualified for the primary.
    • Financial commentator Peter Schiff did not.


    Lieutenant Governor


    First Congressional District

    • Democrat: U.S. Rep John Larson
    • Republican: Ann Brickley secured the nomination.
    • Mark Zydanowicz, a dairy farmer from West Hartford, plans to compete in the primary, according to the Bristol Press.
    • Former town councilor Joe Visconti did not secure enough votes for the primary.

    Second Congressional District

    • Democrat: U.S. Rep Joe Courtney
    • Republicans: Daria Novak, a former state department official from Madison won the nomination.
    • Former television news anchor Janet Peckinpaugh earned enough votes to run in the Republican primary in the 2nd district.
    • Doug Dubitsky, an attorney and farmer from Chaplain, will also be on the primary ballot.

    Third Congressional District

    • Democrat: U.S. Rep. Rosa DeLauro
    • Republican: Jerry Labriola

    Fourth Congressional District

    • Democrat: U.S. Rep. Jim Himes
    • Republican: State Sen. Dan Debicella got the nomination.
    • Thomas Hermann and Rob Merkle are looking for signatures to qualify for the primary.

    Fifth Congressional District

    • Democrat: U.S. Rep. Chris Murphy
    • Republican: State Sen. Sam Caligiuri won the nomination.
    • Justin Bernier, of Plainville, said he would force a primary, according to the Bristol Press.

    State Treasurer

    • Democrat: State Treasurer Denise Nappier
    • Republican: Newington Mayor Jeff Wright

    State Comptroller

    Attorney General

    • Democrat: George Jepsen secured the nomination.
    • Republican: Avon attorney Martha Dean takes the nomination.
    • Susan Bysiewicz was declared ineligible, but her brother-in-law, Ross Garber, entered the race last week and qualified for the primary.

    Secretary of the State

    • Democrat: Democratic House Majority Leader Denise Merrill won the nomination. She will face Jonathan Harris in a primary.
    • Republican: Commissioner of Consumer Protection Jerry Farrell Jr.