Boatright on Midseason Wooden Award List

Ryan Boatright leads the Huskies in scoring with 16.3 points per game.

Cincinnati UConn Basketball

Senior point guard Ryan Boatright has been named to the Wooden Award Midseason Top 25, based on a poll of national college basketball experts as announced by the Los Angeles Athletic Club. Details via Thursday's press release:

Boatright, who leads the Huskies in scoring (16.3 ppg) and assists (4.5), was the Preseason Player of the Year in the American Athletic Conference. He has been named the league's Player of the Week once and has been on the league's weekly Honor Roll six times. The was on the original Preseason Top 50 for the Wooden Award.

The leading candidates will be further pared to 20 top players in early February. Fifteen top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA will be submitted to the voters on the ballot prior to the NCAA Tournament. Every year, players make the ballot who are not on the preseason or midseason lists. Voting will take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 39th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2015 will go to San Diego State Head Men’s Basketball Coach Steve Fisher. The event will take place the weekend of April 10-12, 2015.

Here's the complete list of the 25 players to make the midseason list.

Justin Anderson, Virginia
Ron Baker, Wichita State
Ryan Boatright, UConn
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
D'Angelo Harrison, St. John's
Tyler Haws, BYU
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Tyus Jones, Duke
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Jordan Mickey, LSU
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Bobby Portis, Arkansas
Chasson Randle, Stanford
Terry Rozier, Louisville
D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Juwan Staten, West Virginia
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Delon Wright, Utah

Contact Us