Travelers Championship

Dustin Johnson Wins 2020 Travelers Championship

Maddie Meyer

Dustin Johnson won the Travelers Championship on Sunday to end a long drought and extend his career-long season victory streak to 13.

Johnson finished the tournament at 19-under thanks to several birdies on his round.

He began the day two shots behind Brendon Todd but surged to the lead with four birdies on the front nine.

The PGA Tour suspended play due to weather just after Johnson nearly went in the water on the 15th hole, but was able to save par.

Johnson bogeyed 16, before finishing with back-to-back pars and a round of 67 to end the tournament at 19 under par.

Johnson last won in Mexico City in March 2019.

Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus each won in 17 consecutive years. Johnson failed to win in 2014, but is given credit for winning in the 2013-14 season from his victory in the fall of 2013 in Shanghai. The tour changed to a wraparound season in 2013.

Johnson tapped in for par on the par-4 18th, raised his ball to acknowledge the smattering of applause from course workers and officials with no fans allowed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

He finished at 19-under 261 for his 21st PGA Tour title.

Mackenzie Hughes, who shot a first-round 60, had a 67 to tie for third with 23-year-old Will Gordon at 17 under. Gordon, who had no status on either the PGA Tour or the Korn Ferry Tour, had seven birdies in a 64. He earned a special temporary card and unlimited exemptions for the rest of the season.

The 2014 champion, Kevin Streelman, finished in second place just one shot back.

The Associated Press & NBC Connecticut
Contact Us