UConn Women’s Opponents Announced

Getty Images

The American Athletic Conference announced Thursday it's women's basketball scheduling model for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 seasons that will feature an 11-team conference championship bracket.

The Huskies will play home-and-home series against the following schools: Cincinnati, East Carolina, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane, and Tulsa for 16 league games. The Huskies will travel to UCF and will play host to Houston to complete the conference schedule.

Dates and times will be announced at a later date.

Details from the news release:

The league’s 11 members will play an 18-game schedule. Each team will play eight of its 10 opponents twice, and the other two opponents once each – one at home and one away.

Each school will play the same home and home opponents over the course of two years in the current model. The single play opponents will switch sites in 2015-16.

The American Women’s Basketball Championship includes all 11 teams and will be seeded 1-11. The tournament will begin on Friday with matchups between the No. 9 and No. 8 seeds, No. 10 and No. 7 seeds and No. 11 and No. 6 seeds. The winners will advance to meet the first, second and third seeds, respectively, on Saturday.

Also playing on Saturday will be the No. 5 and No. 4 seeds. The top five seeds in the championship will receive byes into Saturday’s quarterfinal round.

The 2015 AAC women's championship will be played at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville on March 6-9.

Contact Us