Wreh-Wilson Wins Team MVP Honors

Getty Images

The season again ended without a bowl berth for UConn, so while other teams prepared for December and January football, the Huskies held their annual end-of-year awards ceremony. The winners for the 2012 season (via UConnHuskies.com):

Most Valuable Player:
cornerback Blidi Wreh-Wilson, senior

Offensive Player of the Year: tight end Ryan Griffin, senior

Defensive Player of the Year: defensive end Trevardo Williams, senior

Special Teams Player of the Year: Nick Williams, senior

Jasper Howard Award (given to a player who best exemplifies a “battle to the end” spirit): defensive tackle Ryan Wirth, senior

Football Alumni Award:
guard Adam Masters, senior

Kendall Madison Award (given to a player whose hard work and outstanding citizenship best exemplify the strong spirit of the UConn Huskies): linebacker Sio Moore, senior

The Joseph M. Gianelli Unsung Hero Award: tight end John Delahunt, senior

John L. Toner Scholar Athlete Award:
linebacker Jory Johnson, senior

The Brian Kozlowski Award (given to the player that is the most courageous, hard-working and productive):
cornerback Dwayne Gratz

Contact Us