Breanna Stewart Wins Wooden Award - NBC Connecticut
Dog House
A home for all things Huskies

Breanna Stewart Wins Wooden Award

And Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis -- along with Stewart -- was named to the five-member Wooden All-American Team.

    Winter Olympics PyeongChang 2018 Medal Count


    10 Ways to be Heart-Smart This National Heart Month

    Breanna Stewart won the John R. Wooden Award as the nation's best player on Friday during the College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles.

    "To win an award with John Wooden's name on it is an unbelievable honor," she said, via the Associated Press. "It just shows a lot of hard work pays off."

    And in a season full of honors and accolades, it's only fitting that Stewart wasn't alone; senior Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis -- along with Stewart -- was named to the five-member Wooden All-American Team. Both players were also named to the USBWA and WBCA All-America Teams.

    More details via the press release:

    (Stewart) averaged 17.6 points, 7.8 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game and also earned national player of the year honors from the Associated Press, WBCA (Wade Trophy), Atlanta Tip-Off Club (Naismith Trophy) and USBWA (Ann Meyers Drysdale Award). ...

    Mosqueda-Lewis averaged 14.9 points per game and led the country in three-point field goal shooting at 48.8 percent. She established a new NCAA record for three-point field goals made in UConn’s NCAA Regional Final win over Dayton and ended her career with a record total of 398 career treys. ...

    Mosqueda-Lewis and Stewart led the Huskies to their third-straight national championship, including their third in-a-row. UConn posted a 38-1 record en route to winning the American Athletic Conference Regular Season and Tournament championships. Mosqueda-Lewis was selected as the league tournament and Albany Regional Most Outstanding Player while Stewart earned Final Four MOP honors for the third-consecutive year.

    Stewart becomes the third UConn player to win the award after Maya Moore (2009, 2011) and Tina Charles (2010).