State School Chosen for Homeland Security Initiative

Eastern Connecticut State University has been selected along with seven other schools.

Eastern Connecticut State University has been chosen by the Department of Homeland Security to take part in a nationwide emergency preparedness initiative.
The program, called the Campus Resilience Pilot Program, was announced Tuesday by Secretary of Homeland Security, Janet Napolitano, at Drexel University.
Eastern is one of seven schools that have been selected to take part in the crisis prep program.
The program is designed to help colleges share best practices and develop new and innovative ways of dealing with natural or man-made disasters.
The other schools taking part in the initiative are Green River Community College in Aubrun, Wash.; Navajo Technical College in Crownpoint, N.M.; Texas A&M University; Drexel University, Tougaloo College in Jackson, Miss; and the University of San Francisco.
Napolitano said the program will engage school officials, students and community leaders.
The schools were chosen to represent the range of difference between institutions across the nation, which vary from rural to large schools, along with many other characteristics.
Contact Us