13 States, Including Connecticut, Will Raise Minimum Wage in 2016: Report

Connecticut is among 13 states that will raise the minimum wage in 2016, according to a report. 

In all, 14 cities, counties and state governments have approved to phase in the $15 hourly pay hike, the National Employment Law Project (NELP) reported. 

The hike calls to be phased in because the new minimum is over a 100 percent increase over the $7.25 federal minimum wage. 

Connecticut's minimum wage will increase by $0.45 to $9.60 per hour. By 2017, Connecticut will have a minimum wage of $10.10 per hour. 

In New York, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said the the statewide minimum wage would be raised to $15 by 2018 after fast food workers historically demanded an increase in pay. 

Legislators in Los Angeles said they would be fully phased in to the new minimum between 2018 and 2021. 

“We’ve seen incredible momentum this past year in the fight to raise wages to a level that will make a meaningful difference to America’s workers and their families,” said Christine Owens, executive director of the National Employment Law Project.

There are still 16 states pending legislative or ballot proposals, according to NELP. 

Here is the full lists of states that will increase its minimum wage in 2016:

Alaska: $8.75 to $9.75

Arkansas: $7.50 to $8

California: $9 to $10

Connecticut: $9.15 to $9.60

Hawaii: $7.75 to $8.50

Maryland: $8.00 to $8.75

Massachusetts: $9 to $10

Michigan: $8.15 to  $8.50

Nebraska: $8 to $9

New York: $8.25 to $9

Rhode Island: $9.00 to $9.60

Vermont: $9.15 to $9.60

West Virginia: $8.00 to $8.75

Contact Us