UConn to Face Charleston in Puerto Rico Tip-Off

UConn will face Charleston in the first round of the Puerto Rico Tip-off, on Thursday, Nov. 20 at 12:30 p.m. ET, the school announced Tuesday. The game will be televised on ESPNU.

The eighth annual event will take place from Nov. 20-23. Other schools taking part in the tournament include: Boston College, Dayton, George Mason, New Mexico, Texas A&M and West Virginia. The final two games -- including the championship, will air on ESPN2.

More details about the participating programs, via UConnHuskies.com:

In addition to NCAA Champion Connecticut (American Athletic), Elite 8 participant Dayton (Atlantic 10) and Mountain West postseason champion New Mexico played in the 2014 NCAA Tournament. Other schools competing in the 2014 postseason were Texas A&M (Southeastern, CBI) and West Virginia (Big 12, NIT). Boston College (Atlantic Coast), College of Charleston (Colonial) and George Mason (Atlantic 10) participated in their respective conference tournaments.

College of Charleston (2007), Dayton (2009), George Mason (2009) and West Virginia (2010) will be appearing in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off for the second-time. West Virginia advanced to the 2010 Puerto Rico Tip-Off championship game before losing 74-70 to Minnesota.

Charlotte captured the 2013 Puerto Rico Tip-Off as the 49ers upset nationally-ranked Michigan 63-61 in the finals. In addition to Minnesota, other winners of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off include Miami (Fla., 2007); Xavier (2008); Villanova (2009); Alabama (2011) and Oklahoma State (2012).

UConn is 2-0 lifetime against Charleston, defeating the Cougars 68-52 on Nov. 24, 1990, and 77-60 on Dec. 27, 1995.

Contact Us